Book Review: The Woman in Cabin 10

Release date : July 19 2016
Genre: Mystery/Thriller
 
 
From the moment I met Lo Blacklock I was hooked.
Lo is assigned to spend one week on a luxury cruise ship. At first it seems like a dream come true. A beautiful cabin, interesting passengers, and the chance to make a name for herself professionally. She could never imagine the twists and turns her dream assignment is about to take.
Lo hears something, she sees something…or does she? While she is sure she witnessed something truly terrifying, she is made to feel delusional by the ship’s crew. Lo doesn’t know who she can trust and due to the wi-fi being down, she is truly alone with no way to contact anyone outside of the ship.
If you are one who really enjoys characters full of substance with fully formed personalities, you will enjoy this book immensely. Ware has a knack for describing the appearance of a character just enough so you are able to let your imagination have some fun while reading and pondering each character.
The plot is strong and compelling. There are shocking moments followed by less intense situations, but at no time did I find myself feeling bored or wishing the book would end. In fact it was quite the opposite. I was on the edge of my seat the entire time I read The Woman in Cabin 10 and I found myself thinking about it throughout the day, and I definitely snuck in a few pages at work.
One thing I absolutely must mention is the subject of mental illness in this book. Medication is mentioned as is PTSD and anxiety. I was impressed by the respectful way these topics were handled and were normalized. Thank you, Ruth.
I highly recommend this book to those who love a good mystery, an excellent thriller, well developed characters, and a beautiful and mysterious setting. It is worth your time and is a quick and very enjoyable read. Perfect for the airplane, the beach, or curled up on the couch with a cat or two.
Leave a Reply

