Book Reviews

Two Lovers, Six Deaths
by Gretta Mulrooney
Series: Tyrone Swift Detective Series (book 3)
Published November 28, 2016

Description (from Amazon.com):

A MAN STABS HIS GIRLFRIEND TO DEATH, THEN HANGS HIMSELF, LEAVING A NOTE CONFESSING TO THE MURDER. OPEN AND SHUT CASE? NOT FOR DETECTIVE TYRONE SWIFT.

Dominic Merrell’s estranged wife Georgie doesn’t believe that he could have done it. Detective Swift discovers that Dominic was a reliable, devoted husband and father for eighteen years until he met the beautiful, charismatic Lisa, who he left his wife for. No one can believe that Dominic was capable of murder. But if it wasn’t him, then who killed the seductive but chaotic Lisa?

Dominic and his murdered girlfriend harbour dark secrets from their turbulent pasts. How can two lovers cause so much destruction?

Tyrone Swift will do anything to uncover the truth about a case that has uncomfortable parallels to his own troubled personal life. In a shocking ending, those with much to hide will do anything they can to stop him.

TWO LOVERS, SIX DEATHS is a beautifully written mystery that will have you gripped from start to heart-stopping finish.

Perfect for fans of Robert Galbraith, Paula Hawkins, P.D. James, Gillian Flynn, or Ruth Rendell.

My Review:

This is the third book of the Tyrone Swift series and the first one I have read. Looking back, I think I should have read the first two because I feel like my relationship with Tyrone was a little impersonal and I think getting to know him better would have helped me to enjoy this book just a teensy bit more.

Two Lovers, Six Deaths had me hooked at the beginning as the death of Dominic Merrell and the murder of his girlfriend Lisa and the events leading up to it were chock full of drama and questions at every turn.

I was a little confused by Tyrone’s relationship with his ex-fiancee and her now husband. I think it might have taken away from the main storyline a little bit, and I found the ex-fiancee to be so unlikable that I groaned inwardly whenever her name was brought up. This subplot was almost upsetting in a way and the husband so vile that I wished it didn’t exist. Though, I can see it being important for readers to get to know a different side to Tyrone apart from that of a Private Detective. I will take from this that Tyrone Swift is a patient, loyal, and selfless man who puts others before himself, which are traits that make him a good P.I.

I waited for my a-ha moment and I’m sorry to say it never came. It could be that I was distracted by the subplots (there are more than one), but I can’t put my finger on it. There were good turns to the book and exciting bits of information about Lisa and Dominic were revealed, but the turns weren’t quite as twisty as I had hoped.

I liked this book, I did, but at the end when everything was revealed I thought that maybe I skipped ahead on my kindle by accident. The ending and what I believe were to be the shocking revelations surrounding the death were a bit milk toast. I almost felt more invested with the subplots than with the main storyline. However! I did not solve the mystery myself and that says a lot for the book. Quite a lot.

Would I recommend this book? It is an interesting story and the fact that I was unable to solve the mystery leads me to recommend this read in a cautiously optimistic way. I would recommend reading the previous books in this series, which, as I mentioned, is something I wished I would have done.

If you are triggered by the topic of suicide, you might want to avoid this book, or at the very least, know that this is the way Dominic Merrell died and prepare yourself for some descriptions and conversations about suicide.

One more thing…I only counted 4 deaths in the book…has anyone else discovered all 6? I have to be missing something… Thank you🙂

Many sincere thank yous to NetGalley and Joffee Books for a free copy of this book. It was my pleasure and honor to provide an honest review.

_________________________________________________________________

Picture Book Review: Fuddles and Puddles

Written and Illustrated by Frans Vischer
Copyright 2016
Genre: Picture Book

Jacket Blurb:

The perfectly pampered world of Fuddles comes screeching to a halt when a new puppy – Puddles – joins the family. Puddles howls all night, slobbers all day, and even “puddles” on the kitchen floor!

There must be some way Fuddles can get rid of Puddles, before this out-of-control canine forever ruins Fuddles’s charmed life. 

The fur truly flies in Frans Vischer’s story about frenemies who may just become lifelong friends. 

Review:

The first page of this story is an illustration of a cat in a bathtub, complete with bath pillow. Of course it is obvious that I love cats from the name of my blog, but a cat in a bubble bath? It’s simply too much! Too much in the best way possible. 🙂 Vischer is a talented illustrator and I find his art to be very aesthetically pleasing. I have come across picture books that may have had wonderful stories, but if the illustrations do not grab me, it’s likely I will not read the book. Fuddles the cat is so cute and his facial expressions so animated, it is hard not to fall in love with this sophisticatedly spoiled tuxedo cat.

Puddles the puppy is an unlikely friend for the pampered Fuddles who is feeling territorial. After all, his family has him, why do they need a dog? Yuck! After a harrowing situation, Fuddles is able to look past the annoying parts of Puddles and sees that he just might have a new friend after all.

If you enjoy beautiful illustrations, love cats and/or dogs, and are in the mood for a fun read that will bring a smile to your face, I highly recommend this book to you. The amount of personality Vischer puts into Fuddles makes this book quite enjoyable and engages adults and children alike. It is a funny, sweet story that will encourage you to run to your local library to pick up the other books starring Fuddles the cat.

Leave a Reply

