50 Random Facts about Me

I remember making an “About Me” video when I first started my now defunct YouTube channel. It was so much fun for me to make so I thought I would do something similar on my new-ish blog 🙂 I hope it’s not too boring. Cheers!

  1. I love cookie dough ice cream, blizzards…anything cookie dough I love.
  2. I am also a huge fan of shortbread. Walkers is my favorite brand.
  3. I have 2 master’s degrees. One in Clinical Counseling and one in Library & Information Science.
  4. I can do some pretty good impressions. Ask me about my impersonation of Eddie Murphy impersonating James Brown. 🙂
  5. I am from Ohio, but I do not root for Ohio State. And Brutus kind of weirds me out…
  6. My grandpa was my best friend for my entire life. He passed away in 2006 and I miss him every day.
  7. My cat Grover was also my best friend. We adopted him (a handsome tuxedo cat who had been a tough tomcat during his previous life) in 2003 and he saved my life numerous times. I tried to end my own life a number of times and he was always there to stop me. Grover was like a guardian angel on Earth and I am positive I would not be here today if he were not in my life.
  8. I love the Pittsburgh Steelers!
  9. I have had my nose busted a number of times while playing basketball in high school.
  10. Some of my greatest fears are spiders, clowns, dolls, rejection on a very personal level, being annoying, and losing control. These fears sometimes cripple me and make life very difficult.
  11. I LOVE Disney World. It is my happy place. Epcot and The Magic Kingdom fill me with so much joy it is overwhelming and when I’m there, it feels like the best dream ever. I always cry tears of happiness…I just love it so much. 🙂
  12. I had my worst panic attack last January in Orlando Airport going through security. They were surprisingly compassionate. It was horrifying. So scary I did not even register any embarrassment.
  13. Learning about and reading about serial killers is one of my favorite hobbies. I could give a full dissertation on Ted Bundy. My dream job in another life would be a profiler for the FBI in the Behavioral Analysis Unit.
  14. I met my husband, Van, when I was 16 and he was 21. We met at a track invitational. He was the official and I was an injured athlete helping him out at the high jump. It was love at first sight for me. 🙂 He of course, was too old, in a fraternity, and very kind and tolerant of my crush on him because it was obvious. Years later I wrote him a letter and he wrote back!
  15. My first date with Van was on August 31, 1999. I was 20. 🙂 We were married on April 26, 2003.
  16. Tupac Shakur is one of my favorite artists.
  17. I love bubble baths.
  18. The first book I ever bought with my own money was Bunnicula. It remains one of my favorite books to this day.
  19. I talked my way out of the Psychiatric Unit during my first visit. I may have sociopathic tendencies.
  20. Makeup and books make happier than I can explain.
  21. I am planting a small garden in the spring just for the bunnies I have seen in our back yard.
  22. I wish I could communicate with animals.
  23. I wear a size 11 shoe.
  24. I have to listen to a certain playlist while I shower or I just stand there and zone out.
  25. I love the book community on Twitter and I have met some lovely people in a matter of only months.
  26. I fear that I may be the worst book reviewer on the planet.
  27. I have found so many lovely YouTubers. I would love to be friends with Lydia Millen, and Elle Florence.
  28. I only met my birth father a couple of years ago. The best thing to come from finding him was finding my half-sister, Alexandria. She is such an amazing, beautiful woman and such a gift! I only say half-sister for explanation purposes. She is my sister.
  29. I tend to ramble and can be waaaayyyyyy too wordy.
  30. I am genuinely shocked when people follow me on Twitter. Even more shocked at retweets and replies!
  31. I am like a crow. Anything sparkly I will find.
  32. I am fiercely loyal to my family and the few people I allow into my inner circle.
  33. I am a true introvert, but can fake being an extrovert pretty well. It’s exhausting but sometimes necessary.
  34. I could live in yoga pants and long white (preferably sparkly) t-shirts.
  35. My birthday is March 22.
  36. Sometimes I get overwhelmed and “zone out” for hours which causes me to fall behind on many things.  This is thanks to one of my mental illnesses.
  37. My top 3 favorite bands are Sons of Serendip, The Cure, and Journey.
  38. I overthink just about everything.
  39. I hate driving and am afraid to drive on the highway.
  40. I need to have noise happening all of the time. At night it’s the ceiling fan and humidifier, during the day it’s Netflix, Hulu, music, YouTube.
  41. I am an Early Childhood Librarian.
  42. I plan escape routes everywhere I go.
  43. I have weapons hidden throughout our home. Most of them are sweet old tools from my Grandpa’s workroom.
  44. I collect direwolves and dragons from Game of Thrones. I also collect anything Marie from the Disney movie Aristocats. I also have a healthy book collection.
  45. If I forget to wear earrings and don’t have a spare pair, it gives me true anxiety and I will think about it all day until I have a pair in my possession.
  46. My favorite flowers are lavender roses and peonies.
  47. I was on homecoming court in high school and at university.
  48. I feel incomplete without nail polish.
  49. I love hot and spicy foods. In my cupboards I have at least two hot sauces at all times.
  50. Sushi is my favorite food, followed by New York-style pizza.

Thank you for reading and learning more about me! This was quite fun 🙂

5 thoughts on “50 Random Facts about Me

Leave a Reply

