Book Review: The Girl from the Sea

The Girl from the Sea, by Shalini Boland
Published June 9, 2016

Brief Summary:

For fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train

A chilling suspense story of wounded hearts and dark secrets.

Washed up on the beach, she can’t remember who she is. She can’t even remember her name. Turns out, she has an idyllic life – friends and family eager to fill in the blanks.

But why are they lying to her? What don’t they want her to remember?

When you don’t even know who you are, how do you know who to trust?

My Review:

From the moment Mia James opened her eyes on the beach I was on her side, feeling compassion for her and excitement because how on Earth was her story going to play out?

And who can she trust? Piers, who claims to be her boyfriend and is the person who identified her? He seems to have his own curious motivations and Mia is keenly aware of this from the moment she meets him all over again at the hospital. It seems as though no one has any positive regard for her or concern for her amnesia.

This is a difficult review for me to write because I do not want to give away any spoilers or ruin the twists and turns Shalini Boland has in store for her readers. There are so many plot twists and interesting characters introduced at pivotal moments, I was constantly on alert, trying to figure out Mia’s next move or how she ended up on that beach. I was never able to guess correctly – and I love that.

I found myself flying through this book, but I had to be careful not to skim or read too quickly because The Girl from the Sea is a book that needs to be read with intention and with patience. It is so hard to be patient with a story that takes such twists and turns, but Boland places intricate details throughout the book that can be easily missed by someone like me who tends to get impatient because I need to know now!

If you are also a sometimes impatient reader let me reassure you that the ending is worth it! I was reading on the couch while my husband watched television and he started laughing at me once I reached the last page. My mouth had fallen open in great surprise and stayed that way for a few seconds. Attractive, I’m sure, but definitely the mark of a fantastically shocking ending. Had I ever known Mia at all? I’ll never tell. 🙂

If you enjoy multiple plot twists, playing detective whilst reading, and solid character development, I recommend this book. The only thing I would change would be a few more chapters at the end to maybe explain a few things that I couldn’t stop pondering. However, there’s beauty in not knowing and not being 100% certain you have everything figured out.

This would be a great read to start on the couch, or somewhere cozy, and then when you reach a certain point, maybe take it to the treadmill, or elliptical in order to get out some of the anxiety that you may start to feel. Or read a bit, have a mini dance break and then pick up where you left off and then take as many anxiety breaks as you need until you reach the end. 🙂

🍩🍩🍩🍩 4 doughnuts out of 5

Thank you to NetGalley and Adrenaline Books for a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. It was my pleasure to do so.

 

3 thoughts on “Book Review: The Girl from the Sea

Leave a Reply

