Book Review: Behind Closed Doors

Behind Closed Doors, by B. A. Paris
Published February 11, 2016

About the Book:

Everyone knows a couple like Jack and Grace. He has looks and wealth; she has charm and elegance. He’s a dedicated attorney who has never lost a case; she is a flawless homemaker, a masterful gardener and cook, and dotes on her disabled younger sister. Though they are still newlyweds, they seem to have it all. You might not want to like them, but you do. You’re hopelessly charmed by the ease and comfort of their home, by the graciousness of the dinner parties they throw. You’d like to get to know Grace better.

But it’s difficult, because you realize Jack and Grace are inseparable.

Some might call this true love. Others might wonder why Grace never answers the phone. Or why she can never meet for coffee, even though she doesn’t work. How she can cook such elaborate meals but remain so slim. Or why she never seems to take anything with her when she leaves the house, not even a pen. Or why there are such high-security metal shutters on all the downstairs windows.

Some might wonder what’s really going on once the dinner party is over, and the front door has closed.

My Review:

My mom, Sharon, works long days in retail. Often it takes her a week or several to finish a book, so when she finished Behind Closed Doors in less than one day, it caught my attention. The next day, Mom dropped the book off to me and I began reading as soon as I had it in my grasp.

The author flips back and forth, from present time to the past and does it well. This is usually very confusing to me, but almost the entire book is written in this manner and it flowed nicely and never felt forced.

The plot is one I cannot remember reading before. It is unique, thought- and question-provoking and beyond all else, messed up. The first few chapters are so intriguing and I was trying so hard to figure out Grace and Jack, as well as their friends. I devoured each page, each detail, and I will admit to speed-reading a few times just because I had such a strong need to know what was going to happen, to know if my assumptions were correct, and to erase the fog of confusion.

When I say the book was confusing at times, it is actually a compliment. There are so many things going on, so many personalities and things to be aware of…sometimes my mind had to take a break to compose itself.

The author lets us into the truth behind Jack and Grace’s rather quickly which I thought was very merciful because the suspense built up early and so many questions arose. Is he too good to be true? Is Grace a Stepford Wife? Do their friends pick up on the idiosyncrasies in Jack’s and Grace’s personalities that I am noticing? And then suddenly I was hit with a glimpse into the life they share as a couple and the roller-coaster ride began.

I am afraid I cannot include too much more detail because I do not want to ruin this book for you. It is suspenseful and while I am not sure if I would classify it as a psychological thriller, it does touch on the human psyche and how one’s mind, ego, and personality are shaped through nature, nurture, or a combination of the two.

I did not feel emotionally connected to any of the characters in this book, which may be a good thing considering some of the things that happen. No pangs in my heart or excessive worrying. I think I was properly emotionally distanced from the main characters. Not that they were not likable or well developed, but nothing made me feel connected. Reading this book was an enjoyable experience. I was simply reading a suspenseful story with no emotional attachment involved. Sometimes I like not being emotionally invested in the characters’ lives. That can be stressful and exhausting. Good, but still exhausting. I am grateful for my lack of emotion while reading Behind Closed Doors. Several times I said “whaaaaaaaaaaaaat?” out loud and I even had to read a few passages 2 or 3 times just to make sure (insert scene here) really happened.

If you enjoy books that keep you guessing, touch on the human mind/psychology, and books that are hard to put down, I recommend this book. The author does an excellent job of building the story fast enough to keep a reader’s interest, yet the story is not rushed and builds in a way that will make it difficult for you to turn the pages fast enough.

I feel it necessary to point out a potential trigger that is a large part of this book. Jack is a lawyer who specializes in domestic violence.

🍩🍩🍩🍩 4 out of 5 doughnuts

Thank you!
Brooke

Leave a Reply

