Book Review: The Last Days of Jack Sparks

screen-shot-2017-02-11-at-9-22-49-pm

The Last Days of Jack Sparks, by  Jason Arnopp
Published March 1, 2016

About This Book:

Jack Sparks died while writing this book.
 
It was no secret that journalist Jack Sparks had been researching the occult for his new book. No stranger to controversy, he’d already triggered a furious Twitter storm by mocking an exorcism he witnessed.
Then there was that video: forty seconds of chilling footage that Jack repeatedly claimed was not of his making, yet was posted from his own YouTube account.
Nobody knew what happened to Jack in the days that followed — until now.

My Review:

Sitting in our staff workspace at my library, Tracy was working on shelf talkers when she paused for a moment to read me the description above. I have a “To Be Read” list that is probably too long, but when I heard about Jack Sparks, I knew I had to move this book to the top of my list. The very top.

Jack Sparks doesn’t believe in much. He writes books from an extreme point of view, to give his readers an inside look at worlds they are curious about, but don’t necessarily want to be a part of. His last book found him becoming addicted to drugs as he tried as many different kinds as he could get his hands on, documenting his journey along the way. For his readers. Right? He does all of these extreme things for his viewers, to teach them, to open their minds and other selfless reasons. As you get to know more about Jack, you’ll find out that selfless is not a word that many would associate with him. Not even his brother, or Bex, his roommate with whom he is infatuated.
As the description states, Jack has decided to write a book about the supernatural. How will an atheist react to an exorcism? Will there be lasting repercussions from his actions during the exorcism? And will this book and Jack’s experiences impact your view on the supernatural?
This book is  rollercoaster ride from the first paragraph – in the best way possible. Arnopp has the gift of immediately capturing the reader’s attention and hanging onto it page after page. I was on the edge of my seat the entire time I was reading The Last Days of Jack Sparks. I felt embarrassed for Jack, I felt terrified, I felt exhausted. I felt so grateful to Tracy for finding this exciting, interesting, and thought-provoking book.
The plot twists and the hidden truths that finally emerge about Jack are shocking. I found myself going back and re-reading certain passages just to re-witness events with a fresh, informed eye.
If you like books about the supernatural (fiction and non-fiction alike), are interested in religion, demonology, and/or biblical studies as well as stories that grab you from the beginning and make you lose your breath during the journey, I highly recommend this book. I highly recommend this book for anyone who enjoys strong characters, well thought out and well described settings, and strong plots and equally strong plot twists.
Maybe don’t read this one alone at night if you spook easily. Find a cozy spot, bring some coffee, hot chocolate, or tea and get ready to go on one heck of a ride with Jack Sparks. Discover the truth.
🍩 🍩 🍩 🍩 🍩     5 out of 5 doughnuts
Leave a Reply

