Book Review: A Questionable Friendship

A Questionable Friendship by Samantha March
Publication Date: February 26, 2014

About the Book:

Brynne Ropert and Portland Dolish have been best friends since being paired as roommates in college. Seven years later they are now twenty-five, married, and living in Maine–– but the two women couldn’t be more different. Brynne finds fulfillment in her life as a wife, mother and owner of a small café and bookshop, but is struggling to expand her family. Portland is still coping with her mother’s death during her childhood, and her marriage is unraveling before her eyes. Portland envies her friend’s seemingly stable and easy life while Brynne doesn’t understand the growing distance between them and cannot begin to guess what secret Portland is hiding about her husband and crumbling marriage. While one woman feels shut out, the other enters into a web of lies to protect herself.

A Questionable Friendship explores what really makes someone a true friend, a support system, a sister. How much trust goes into a friendship and when is being a friend not enough? Brynne and Portland’s story will attempt to answer those questions, and show that happily ever after isn’t in the cards for everyone.

My Review:

A Questionable Friendship is a touching and heart-wrenching story of two best friends. Brynne is happily married to Aaron, her devoted and loving husband who is there for her through thick and thin, and all of life’s ups and downs. They have an adorable, sweetheart of a daughter named Emmy Jo who is the light of their lives. Emmy Jo brought a genuine smile to my face many times throughout the book. Brynne loves books and owns her own book store and cafe named EJ Reads. It made me think of You’ve Got Mail a little bit. 🙂 Very cozy and lovely to imagine.

Portland followed her bestie, Brynne, to a new city and soon after met her husband, Trent. Portland often works at EJ Reads. She and Trent lead what seems to be an idyllic life, with a large, upscale home and enough money to keep them comfortable for ages thanks to Trent’s demanding job.

I read this on my kindle. I was about 4% through the book when I knew I was in it for the long haul. It has been a long time since I have read a book that was so…soothing. Soothing in that I was actually able to lose myself in a story and relax. Sometimes I find it hard to focus my mind and relax, even when reading, and lately I’ve been having a bit of a rough go of things. I write all of this to explain what A Questionable Friendship meant to me. It brought me an incredible reading experience that I would characterize as rich, surprising, touching, satisfying, and sometimes frustrating. Frustrating because I wanted Brynne and Portland to communicate better, communicate in an authentic and transparent way. But their struggles to communicate are extremely important to the story. The characters became so real to me, I found myself becoming emotionally invested. I was moved to tears at least twice.

Samantha March has a gift for writing, especially when it comes to character development. If this is something important to you in a book, you will love A Questionable Friendship. If atmosphere/setting is important to you, the descriptions of the town will transport you so that you will feel like you are right there with Brynne, Portland, Emmy Jo and everyone else.

This book has it all. Interesting characters-there is not one character that did not fit in or make sense. A friendship between the two main characters that is complicated and real and it leads Brynne and Portland to often question their connection, ergo the title of the book, A Questionable Friendship. The story is so engaging  – you will have a tough time putting this one down! I read it in less than 2 days. And the plot twists! They were believable and made me gasp out loud.

I struggled to review this book because I loved it so  much. Did I say enough? Did I say the right things? I highly recommend this book if you love a good story, characters that come to life on the pages, stories about friendship and real life, books that make you feel real feelings, and unexpected suspense. I can’t recommend it highly enough and it makes me excited to read Samantha’s other books.

🍩🍩🍩🍩🍩 5 doughnuts

Thank you for reading,
Brooke

How to find Samantha March:

Her blog, Chick Lit Plus
YouTube (she has a beauty channel! It is so much fun!)
Instagram
Twitter
Facebook

Leave a Reply

