Book Review: I Am Death

I Am Death, by Chris Carter
Publication Date: July 30, 2015
Genre: Thriller, Crime
Book 7 of the Robert Hunter Thriller Series

About the Book:

In Top 10 Sunday Times (UK) bestselling author Chris Carter’s electrifying follow-up to his “chilling” (Daily Mail) thriller An Evil Mind, the LAPD’s Ultra Violent Crimes Unit lead detective, Robert Hunter, races to stop a serial killer whose past secrets rival those of Hunter’s himself.

Seven days after being abducted, the body of a twenty-year-old woman is found on a grassy area by the Los Angeles International Airport. She has been left with her limbs stretched out and spread apart, placing her in a five-point human star.

The autopsy reveals that she has been tortured and murdered in a bizarre way but the surprises don’t end there. The killer likes to play, and he left something behind for the cops to find. Detective Robert Hunter is assigned to the case but almost immediately a second body turns up. Detective Hunter quickly realizes that he is chasing a monster—a predator whose past hides a terrible secret, whose desire to hurt people and thirst for murder can never be quenched—for he is DEATH.

Fast-paced, action-packed, and filled with suspense, I Am Death is perfect for fans of Jeffery Deaver, Thomas Harris, and Chelsea Cain.

My Review:

I think I may have found a new favorite author.

While this is book seven in a series I will definitely be reading, I was able to read it without feeling like I was missing out, or completely lost on character background and personalities. This is a mark of a highly skilled author – the ability to pull in a reader well past the middle of a series, to keep them hooked and wanting more.

I love thrillers, and crime novels and I Am Death did not disappoint. Detectives Garcia and Hunter are returning to the job after a traumatic workplace situation. Upon their arrival, they are faced with a psychopath who is surprising them at every turn and does not follow a specific M.O. like most serial killers do. This perpetrator, whose only consistencies are horrifying brutal murders and leaving his signature at almost every crime scene: I Am Death.

The chapters fly by and are so full of meaningful, interesting, and captivating information that I hated to see each one end. Carter does something neat with his chapters as he sticks with the detectives for a few chapters and after revealing a huge piece of information, he sometimes flips to the point of view of the killer and his victims, or he might stick with the detectives. You never know what is coming next while you are reading and I love that. I love being on the edge of my seat, loving all story lines and not wishing that one would end so I can go back to the one that I like.

I thought I had this book figured out, I really did. I could not have been more wrong. I love being wrong! The plot twist that happens at the very end of the book blew my mind. I was so shocked and at first confused, I had to read the last few chapters a few times to make sure I was processing what I was reading. It was an amazing ending that I could never have predicted in a million years.

I found detectives Garcia and Hunter to be very likable. I especially liked that Robert Hunter has a Ph. D. in psychology and is constantly being courted by the FBI. He is vastly intelligent, but he never makes his partner or others around him feel as though they are less than. He comes across as a very humble man.

If you like books you can’t put down, difficult or unsolvable crimes, characters who will lead you to want to get to know them better and make you want to read every book written by Chris Carter, then I highly recommend this book to you. Go on a journey with Robert Hunter and try to solve this crime with him. I feel comfortable promising you that you will not be bored or counting the pages until you reach the end. You may need to read a few scenes more than once, but it’s worth it. So worth it.

This was a thriller I read mainly when I was alone and I did not get too scared to the point where I was unable to be comfortable in my own home. It’s terrifying, please don’t get me wrong, but if you read this during the day time, you might be okay. 🙂 At night…maybe cuddle up with your dog(s) or cat(s) and try not to accidentally push your significant other out of the bed because with each turn of the page you inch closer and closer. Not that this happened to me at all…

Chris Carter is a very gifted author. I highly recommend his Robert Hunter Thriller series, but if you can get your hands on I Am Death, I think this can serve as a stand alone novel that will be a good introduction to Robert Hunter and give you a glimpse into who he is as a man and as an elite detective.

I cannot wait to read my next Robert Hunter book. Thank you, Chris Carter.

🍩🍩🍩🍩🍩 5/5 doughnuts

Thank you to NetGalley and Atria books for a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

