Beauty Haul Review

screen-shot-2017-02-27-at-9-30-20-amI have been trying out these products for almost 2 weeks and I have some definite opinions I would like to share with you. I will add a link to each product in case you would like to purchase it, or learn more about it. 🙂

Batiste Dry Shampoo in the Tropical scent
I’ve tried a handful of dry shampoos and Batiste has been  my favorite since the first time I tried it about 2 years ago. There are many scents and tropical smells like the beach…coconuts, sunscreen…I love it! My other favorite is the leopard print can. It does leave a white cast, though it’s not too bad if you don’t spray too much. To get rid of the white cast, just brush through your hair and if you need to spray some rosewater on your hair or a detangler to soak up the powder.
Grade: B+

Maybelline dream BB FRESH 8-in-1 Beauty Balm Skin Corrector with SPF 30 in the shade 110 Light/Medium Sheer Tint
This is a beautiful BB cream. As the tube says, it is a sheer tint, so if you like a lot of coverage, you might want to skip over this BB cream. I usually wear it on days where I am home and want a little something on my face, but let my skin breathe at the same time. There is no discernible scent and it blends nicely with a beauty sponge.
Grade: A

Milani Prime Light Face Primer: Strobing + Pore Minimizing 
I have been using this as my daily primer. It glides on smoothly and gives my skin a subtle, healthy looking glow. I do not have large pores, so I cannot speak to the claim of pore-minimizing. I have dry skin so this works beautifully for me, but I am not sure if applying it to the entire face would work for everyone, especially those with oily skin, just because of the strobing properties/dewiness.
Grade: B+

Neutrogena Ultra Light Cleansing Oil
This is a wonderful oil! I have tried a few, drugstore and high-end and this is by far the best one. It takes my makeup off, smells amazing (I can’t put my finger on it…maybe like cherries?), and it doesn’t irritate my eyes. My finger slipped and I poked myself in the eye and it was just a gross mess, but after I rinsed out my eye, there was no irritation or redness. I also use this on a daily basis to remove all of my face makeup including eye makeup and if I use it like normal human who doesn’t want to poke her eye out, it feels amazing and my skin is so clean and soft. This oil has been very hard to find, but luckily the CVS by my home always has all of the newest products.
Grade: A

Neutrogena Hydro Boost Hydrating Cleansing Gel
I use this cleanser every morning with my Clarisonic. It makes my face feel super clean, but never tight or uncomfortable.
Grade: B+

Milani Make It Last Setting Spray
The fine mist on this spray automatically made this one of my favorite setting sprays. There is a scent and again, I cannot figure out what the scent is. Let me think…hairspray and a pool? Not a bad smell, just hard to describe, but definitely not bad. I’ll stew on this… I’m sure that makes zero sense, but if you can describe it better, I would love to hear what you think. 🙂 I use this spray when I am all done with my makeup and it seems to meld together my foundation, powder, blush, and highlight. It adds moisture and life back to my skin but does not make it feel oily or slick.
Grade: A

Cover Girl oh sugar!  Vitamin Infused Balm in 1 Cupcake
This balm is so beautiful, it smells like heaven, a little bit like soda pop, but that could just be me. It smells like a Lip Smacker and I love it! It moisturizes my lips and leaves the softest tint. A true my lips but better. There are at least 5 more colors, but I love Cupcake so much, I haven’t strayed. I’m currently on my second tube.
Grade: A+

Garnier Miracle Anti-Fatigue: Sleeping Cream
This cream is so magical. Every night I take my little spatula and grab some product. The next night I open the tub and it is as if I never used it. It’s wild. I like this cream because it makes my skin feel nourished and supple. I need to use it a little bit longer to get a solid opinion, so when I finish this product I will post an update. In the meantime, I like it and I would purchase it again.
Grade: B+

Garnier Miracle Anti-Fatigue: Wake-Up Hydra Gel Moisturizer
This product feels like silk. I apply in the morning after I wash my face and the smallest amount covers my entire face and leaves it feeling velvety and refreshed. As with the Sleeping Cream, I want to give this a thorough use so I can come back to give you a complete review. In the meantime, I love the pump, the silky feeling, and how it makes my skin feel.
Grade: B+

I feel like I should state that I have dry, sensitive skin. My skin will break out in hives quite easily and it has in the past. I once had to toss over 10 products because my face was…quite scary. My skin usually reacts right away if it doesn’t like a product – 95% of the time, it reacts not even an hour after using a product.

All of the products mentioned have left my skin feeling soothed and quite normal.
I highly recommend all of the above products!

Please do comment with any questions, recommendations, or thoughts.

Thank you for reading,
Brooke 🙂

Leave a Reply

