Book Review: Gone without a Trace

Screen Shot 2017-08-31 at 6.27.48 PM

Gone Without a Trace
By Mary Torjussen
Published: November, 2016

Rating: 5 out of 5 doughnuts 🍩🍩🍩🍩🍩

Such an excellent book to break my reading and blogging slump!

About the Book:

Hannah Monroe’s boyfriend, Matt, is gone. His belongings have disappeared from their house. Every call she ever made to him, every text she ever sent, every photo of him and any sign of him on social media have vanished. It’s as though their last four years together never happened.

As Hannah struggles to get through the next few days, with humiliation and recriminations whirring through her head, she knows that she’ll do whatever it takes to find him again and get answers. But as soon as her search starts, she realizes she is being led into a maze of madness and obsession. Step by suspenseful step, Hannah discovers her only way out is to come face to face with the shocking truth… (from Google Books)

My Thoughts:

Gone Without a Trace grabbed my attention immediately and did not let go until the very end. Mary Torjussen writes in a way that drew me to Hannah and made me like her. I felt invested in her life, in this puzzle she came home to and the way she handled her day to day life and the events each day held.

I usually like to skim most of the books I read, but I was afraid to skim this book. What if I missed an integral part of the story, that one missing piece that would allow me to figure out what had really happened. Never once, in my reading of this book, did I feel like I knew what was happening, what was going to happen, or what kind of surprises lie ahead of me waiting to be discovered. I was kept in suspense the entire time I read and I love that! I love not having a clue as to what is happening, I love not being able to solve the mystery.

Would I recommend this book?

Yes! Absolutely!

To whom would I recommend this book?

I would recommend Gone Without a Trace to readers who enjoy excellent character development. The characters in this story do not remain stagnant, they do not become predictable. The author has a gift for developing characters in an entertaining, yet realistic way. Hannah starts out as a put together, intelligent, business woman and to see how she evolves is like watching magic take place on the pages. The supporting cast also evolves, changes, becomes more interesting, confusing, and complex.

I recommend this book to those who enjoy suspense and feeling confused-in the best way possible. Once you begin reading, it is going to be very difficult to put down.

If you have found yourself in a bit of a reading slump, try this book on for size. It helped me and I feel confident recommending this title to others who are struggling as well. Let me know what you think!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

